Kenyans face trial in the International Court


You can be sure that you only heard half of the story from people who have a tendency to twist the facts. I just found this link which gives a background to the violence of the elections in Kenya where Raila Odinga, the Prime Minister was defeated.

During the violence more than 1,300 persons were killed. They came from 2 main tribes, neither of them were the Luo tribe. Here is a brief excerpt of the report:

The accused are some of the most powerful people in the country, including Uhuru Kenyatta and William Ruto, the perceived leaders of the Kikuyu and Kalenjin ethnic groups respectively, which have had a monopoly on the presidency since independence. In the lead-up to the hearing both men have been cautioned by the government for hate speech during rallies to drum up support.

The first hearing involves Ruto and fellow MP, Henry Kosgey, who have both been suspended from the cabinet over fraud allegations, as well as Joshua Arap Sang, a radio presenter. They are accused of planning and inciting the initial wave of ethnic violence following President Mwai Kibaki’s fraud-tainted election win at the end of 2007.

Allegedly at their instruction, Kalenjin militias in the Rift Valley targeted supporters of Kibaki, mostly Kikuyus, torching houses, looting and murdering. Many people are still unable to return home.

The second hearing deals with the retaliatory violence, which saw Kikuyu gangs attack civilians perceived to back the prime minister, Raila Odinga, who many believe beat Kibaki in the presidential election.

Kenyatta, who is deputy prime minister and finance minister, and the son of Kenya’s first president, Jomo Kenyatta, is accused as an “indirect co-perpetrator” of murder, rape and forcible transfer of persons. Alongside him will be the cabinet secretary, Francis Muthaura, who is Kibaki’s closest adviser, and the former police chief Hussein Ali.

Kenyatta Sr. was known to Øbama Sr.

@@@ UPDATE@@@

This story is worth reading to gain further insight into the charges being laid over the violence in Kenya.

The first group facing a hearing and charges are associated with Odinga. They are charged with the more serious offence of targeting civilians.

The second group are charged with similar violent offences against Odinga supporters.

In the words of the press report:

Issuing summonses for the men in March, the ICC said there were reasonable grounds to believe the Kenyatta group was responsible for attacks against supporters of Odinga’s Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) with a view to keeping Kibaki’s Party for National Unity (PNU) in power.

The group of Ruto, Kosgey and Sang, on the other hand, were believed to have been part of a plan “targeting members of the civilian population supporting the PNU, in order to punish them and evict them from the Rift Valley with the ultimate goal of gaining power and creating a uniform ODM voting block”.

Read more: http://www.news.com.au/world/kenyas-deputy-pm-denies-charges/story-fn6sb9br-1226036347969#ixzz1IyMq1KKv

One response to “Kenyans face trial in the International Court

  1. Hey guys. I just wanted to stop by to say hi and let you know I’d be interesting in somehow receiving gems you find in the news you think they are important.

    As you know, I want to remain neutral in all the conflict at CW. I am still waiting before checking to comments over there. It’s like fingernails on a blackboard to me.

    I hope to be able to leave a door ‘everyone’ can walk through to civility at CW’s. I’m not sure it can possibly happen given the history. I email CW to share info with him almost daily. Just to let you know, I do not try to look for an ‘Obot’ (a term that gives me that nails on a chalkboard feeling) under every rock. I guess it’s like I don’t have ‘gay radar’. My wife, who’s sister is gay, will sometimes tell me some male actor is gay and just look at her with a deer in the headlights and say “really”. So I don’t bother trying. (Just to be clear I’m not homophobic, just stating a fact.) And I AM NOT saying anything about anyone here. I assume everyone has an opinion and is sincere when they share it. I deal with it, catalog it, consider it, etc.

    I’ve always used CW’s as a place to recharge my batteries, a place of peace among friends, familiar figures and characters I appreciate.

    Take care Aussie and others!

    Interesting site.

    “Kenyatta was known to Øbama Sr.” I guess the fruit (Obama) does fall far from the tree. Oh wait. We really don’t which tree is his.
    Zach

    Like