Having braces on the teeth – a comment


This post refers to Witness 8 in the Zimmerman trial. Someone observed that she had braces on her teeth and that might have affected her speech. This might or might not be a reason for a particular speech pattern.

I had orthodontic treatment before it was the in fashion. I can tell you about how a wire from the braces on the lower teeth used to rip into the cheeks of my mouth.  The braces did not affect my speech pattern, but the plates fitted to my upper jaw had an effect on my pattern of speech.

With the plates I had difficulty pronouncing anything with a k. It was terrible, and it is something that I distinctly remember because I could not say something as simple as “thank you”.

From what I have read Witness 8 has other speech problems.

Comments are closed.