The Traybot haters will continue with their hatred no matter what


Among the comments that I have read concerning the latest news on George Zimmerman and his participation in the rescue of a family of 4 was something along the lines of “he should not have done that” …. the commenter by the name of Therese was in fact quite nasty in what she stated about he had no right to pull the family out of the vehicle.

There are some comments to be made that will partially support that view and also rebut that view. First of all, one must be very careful if there are injuries in such a situation because inexperienced people moving someone who has neck injuries could do a lot of harm and cause the person to end up paraplegic. However, that is not always the case. I can cite two examples where a rescue took place.

My first example is one where I have absolutely no memory of the crash itself or what happened immediately afterwards. We were a family of 6, 2 adults and 4 children when a young person who was drunk at the time crashed into our vehicle (a Peugeot).  My entire memory consists of moving off my mother’s knee in the front of the car and moving into the back with my brother and sisters. My next memory is waking up in a room to find myself surrounded by men in white coats. I got up and moved outside, perhaps into a waiting ambulance, and then I remember being looked at when we reached the other hospital, being taken to a taxi, picking up my grandmother and arriving home. Whilst I have no memory, others have filled in some of that picture for me. The first on the scene was a bus with passengers. They apparently got us out of the car and then took us to hospital. I guess someone in a car must have assisted, I do not know. My older sister nearly lost her life because of that accident. She had a broken leg, and she had head injuries. My brother had a broken collarbone. I had slight head injuries including a cut over my left eye and a black eye.  My point here is the fact that we were rescued from the car by non-professional people… but then again in 1959 they did not have paramedics, they did not have cellphones, and people just reacted to the scene that was before them.

My second story involves my daughter in law and her family in New Zealand. She was with her father and sister when the accident took place, and she was the driver. Their vehicle was a Toyota Tarago.  This was a two vehicle accident and it occurred because the other driver had a heart attack at the scene and was dead at the location. There is no blame attached to my daughter in law. What I want to relate is what happened during the crash and immediately afterwards. Mary’s father had a broken leg from the accident. The vehicle was on fire. Mary’s father managed to get himself out of the vehicle and he managed to pull Mary from a burning vehicle. She had a broken leg and she suffered horrific burns to her body. As a result of this accident, at the age of 21, Mary had a leg amputated, and her mother had to make that decision. The sister had a broken arm.

As you can see from this second story, getting the injured driver out of the burning vehicle was imperative. It took a lot of heroism on the part of the driver’s father because he was also injured, but he managed to save his daughter’s life. Sometimes you have to react upon instinct.

This gets me back to George Zimmerman and the other man who was with him when they pulled the family from their car. Someone who called 911 said that the vehicle had caught fire. It was George who used the fire extinguisher that put out the fire. The occupants of the car were not hurt, therefore there was no danger attached in pulling them out of the vehicle. If the car was on fire then it was imperative to get them out of danger, and then take car of the fire.

George Zimmerman behaved like he would in such circumstances. If someone needs help then he goes to their aid, no matter their race or anything like that.

Comments are closed.